Forgiveness

Standard

Last week a sermon by a bule pastor struck me. Yes I go to the church every week now, stop mocking me and just listen hihihihiihi. He said, “So when is your last time forgiving someone? Not just forgiving her or him, but also expressing your forgiveness to them. How? By saying, I forgive you. By the moment you said that, you will feel relieved because you don’t keep the bitterness in your heart.”

Those words took me to the layered memories in my brain and stopped at a bloody heartbreaking memory of being betrayed. Actually I already forgive the person who did it. I have forgiven him long time ago.

But that bule  pastor’s message has rise my deep thought. All this time I always declare that life is a celebration and it wouldn’t be a noble celebration if you still keep anger in your heart. So I decided to call him.

Maybe it sounds selfish or weird that you are calling someone just for saying, I forgive you. But I think it’s worth trying. So I called him and I talked calmly. I quoted the bule pastor and added this prayer,”I honestly wish you a happy life, your wife a happy life and of course you and your new family a happy life. Enjoy life more, because you are chosen to feel it.”

After that call, I did feel relieved. Not just that…I do feel happier, because I perfectly celebrate life. Life has been good to me…not just good; life has been great to me. I’m so moved by every story that happened in my life. They all perfectly made for me. I become stronger, more humble, calmer, and of course happier.

One thing for sure, bloody heartbreak story had brought me to this definition; the full statement of forgiveness. And if you want to celebrate life perfectly, prepare yourself to say these two sentences of three strong words; ‘I love you’ and ‘I forgive you’

 

8 responses »

  1. Pingback: My Fascinating 2011 « Flying so light to the sky

Leave a Reply

